Ruminating on educating

Damien Morgan – items of interest from the world of education

Current 2.0 apps

with 5 comments

I was asked recently by a colleague which Web 2.0 apps I use, and which I could recommend. I’m not going to pretend to be an expert here, having only leaped into the fray relatively recently. However, once I started noting which apps I use regularly, or sometimes, I was quite surprised. My list just kept on growing.

  • Google Apps:
    • Google Mail
      • You need this to access other Google Applications. It’s a good web mail client anyway.
    • Google Docs
      • For those documents I need access to at work and at school, or while on holidays. Everything is stored securely online. Also, these documents can be set up to be shared by more than one user, so they have a classroom purpose in collaborative work.
    • Google Alert
      • Searches Google News each day for items that match the search criteria I give it. One email in my Gmail box, with links to news items of interest.
    • iGoogle
      • Allows me set up a home page with all sorts of widgets attached on various themed pages. An excellent tool.
    • Google Maps
      • Possibly the handiest online invention ever.
    • Google Earth
      • I can hardly think of a better way to waste time online. But it can so easily be tied to curriculum: go and look at the places the class is reading about; places in the news; make a literature map of a story/author.
    • Picasa
      • Online photo storage and cataloguing facility with social networking facility
  • LibraryThing
    • Social networking site for readers/lovers of books. Compile your own library lists, see and read what others are reading, share reviews, add to the shared knowledge of books and authors
  • Twitter
    • Micro-blogging network. I use it to ‘follow’ a small number of other educationalists who post interesting thoughts and worthwhile links. I try to respond in kind.
  • WordPress
    • I use WordPress to host my blog, simply because the person who ran the blogging workshop I was at used it. There are many others: Blogspot, Edublogs etc etc
  • Delicious
    • Social bookmarking site. Users tag and share their bookmarks. Instead of using Google Search, I can see what other Delicious users have tagged similarly to me. For example, I’m researching autism in schools, so in Delicious I use tags such as ‘autism’ and ‘school’ and ‘education’, and I find what other people have bookmarked using those tags.
  • You Tube
    • You need a clip to illustrate something? Want to see that goal again? Some variety for your PLN? It’s here.
  • SlideShare
    • Slideshows can be uploaded and shared with other users – viewed, downloaded, embedded in your own documents (copyright issues need to be considered)
  • Wikipedia
    • Not the evil place some would have you think. It’s hard to think of a more up-to-date encyclopedia, and users will not have problems if they remember to always cross-check information, as they should do anyway.
  • Flork
    • Social networking for books, music and the arts, and allows entry and higher level use of sites such as Literature Map
  • Literature Map
    • Links authors/like authors; provides details and chat between readers etc
  • Daily Lit
    • Books, book discussion, download books bit-by-bit through a daily email, etc

This excellent presentation by Jane Hart gives an overview of the top 25 tools for teachers.

I emphasised that there are many, many more that I simply haven’t had the time to try out, let alone adopt. I must revisit this list in 12 months – I bet it will be longer!

Written by Damien Morgan

September 17, 2009 at 9:52 pm

Posted in PD

Tagged with , ,

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey, I found your blog while searching on Google your post looks very interesting for me. I will add a backlink and bookmark your site. Keep up the good work!

    Tnelson

    October 1, 2009 at 4:22 pm

  2. Hey! I realize this is kind of off-topic but I needed to ask.
    Does running a well-established blog like yours require a lot of work?
    I’m brand new to operating a blog but I do write in my journal daily. I’d like to start
    a blog so I will be able to share my experience and thoughts online.
    Please let me know if you have any kind of ideas or tips for brand new aspiring bloggers.
    Appreciate it!

    shoes for pilates

    July 10, 2013 at 12:47 pm

    • It doesn’t take much work when you write as infrequently as I do 🙂
      If you write a daily journal, you are in a much better place than I am for blogging. Maintain your discipline!

      Damien Morgan

      July 13, 2013 at 5:24 am

  3. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d definitely donate to this superb blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for bookmarking
    and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to new updates and will talk about this website with my Facebook
    group. Talk soon!

  4. Hi there to every body, it’s my first pay a quick visit of this webpage; this weblog includes awesome and truly
    excellent material designed for readers.

    Ollie

    October 7, 2014 at 10:32 am


Leave a Reply

