Ruminating on educating

Damien Morgan – items of interest from the world of education

Personal Learning Environment/Network

with 3 comments

Since deciding a month ago to develop this blog I have noticed a couple of things:

  1. I get distracted from the task at hand.

On its own, that’s not too bad, but I do have a couple of tasks I am supposed to be working on. And I keep following up links from tweets and add more things to my delicious, then find something there that might fit in with the job…  I have followed two conferences in the last week using Twitter, and that has been quite valuable, but having been on vacation meant I could actually spend some time doing it. Back at work next week, so I’ll have to be more judicious.

2. I’ve forgotten what No 2 was. See what I mean about getting distracted?? I’ll edit this post when I remember!

(next day) OK I’ve remembered. The value of a PLN.

I had never even heard of this term until about a month ago – obviously moving in the wrong circles and reading the wrong things. Now (as you can see on the right) I have a number of like-minded blogs which I read, and to which I refer, when ruminating on matters educational, especially with regard to Web 2.0 technologies and the implementation of such in schools, particularly my school. I’m also interested in the idea of a personal learning environment (see below for link), and while I have always had one, I had never really considered it as such until recently. Mine has, of course, also changed in very recent times. It would be an interesting idea to develop with students, also. However, the amount and type of filtering in a school environment, and what they will allow will have a direct impact on a full development of the concept.

The idea of mapping a PLE was mentioned in a tweet from Darcy Moore, and I had a feeling I had seen one linked to the 09 Horizon Report (see how things connect?). I have linked the edtechpost wiki here. It makes thought-provoking reading. I’m not sure what mine would look like at the minute – probably all blurry as I try to figure things out. I can say this: from a zero start, I have come to use Twitter very regularly over the past month. I am developing an eye for posts and topics with which I can connect to develop this blog in the way I want it to go.

Written by Damien Morgan

October 2, 2009 at 1:35 pm

Posted in PD, PLN/PLE

Tagged with , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh no is there where I confuse you more by telling you that a Personal Learning network is not the same as a Personal Learning Environment?

    Looks like I’ve now given you homework to consider the differences, and implications 🙂 BTW did Darcy mention a PLE or PLN in his tweet?

    Sue Waters

    October 5, 2009 at 10:19 am

    • Sue,
      Darcy mentioned both 🙂
      Here’s what I think (and I know there’s room for development and improvement). The Environment is ‘where’ it can all happen, and the Network includes some aspects of that, but more importantly includes who I am working with – those I look to for ideas, inspiration and assistance, and also those to whom I can be of help or support. What do you think?

      dlmorgan

      October 8, 2009 at 7:36 am

  2. The key is “Personal Learning Environments are systems that help learners take control of and manage their own learning.” They may or may not provide an ability to connect with other learners.

    But as you say Networks are about connecting as part of your learning.

    Although there are often arguments about these two terms. So always safer to stick to PLN.

    Sue Waters

    October 8, 2009 at 2:36 pm


Leave a Reply

